Wednesday, April 20, 2011

blast from the past...

with so many bags with 2 kids, I don't take my camera bag with me as much as i should so i rely on my camera phone a lot...doesn't take the best pictures, but captures them just the same...showing off her matching stella and dot necklace and bracelet

hanging in lily's crib together...

visiting her friends at her school...

meeting the newest friend everyone loves immensely...

this picture is my wallpaper on my phone - i love it so much i want to kiss each time i see it...

g-money sporting the exersaucer for one of the first times...

love this picture from the fair when lily made a basket - there's such an annoying delay on my camera phone, but this time it worked in my benefit...

Lily and grandpa (she officially changed his name to Grandpa from Papa) have such a special connection..

David sent this to me when I was in Tampa for a baby shower with G...

getting caricatures done with one of her favorite gal pals Gracie Pie...(the only name Lily uses when referring to her)


and the finished product...
we couldn't leave out Gradycakes...the artist actually had this picture as his home page on his site....



this boy can't stop smiling...i wish i could drink his milk and be this happy all the time...

Lily had to get goggles like her cousins...

and Grady decided to chill out with his homies...

can you tell im terrified of skin cancer?

Lily had this same picture taken when she was a bambino too...

starting solids in the highchair for the first time....this boy can eat...good thing I like to use coupons or we'll be in the poor house when he gets to high school...

oh, this face...

Lily loves to help and thinks she has her very own baby doll now...

they were in the jacuzzi one dayuntil a man at the pool said kids' organs can shut down from the water'sheat so we quickly departed...dont know if that's true, but you mention my kids organs shutting down and i'm running for the hills...

lily patiently waiting while the 7 managers checked me out with my 75 coupons

this was taken minutes after she had thrown up all ove the place at Joe Cool (and some on the shoes of the man in the gray pants ) after she threw up, she said i had a bug in my tummy, but i shoo'd it away...she's not crying here, just reeeeeeeally wincing like the scissors are about to draw blood...

some breakfast (hence waffle/milk on the couch) while catching up on her latest nursery rhymes... blurry, but cute picture of her at bounce house with her friend Sara... http://static.photobucket.com/player.swf" allowfullscreen="true" allownetworking="all" wmode="transparent" flashvars="file=http%3A%2F%2Fvid649.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fuu216%2Fstoutie18%2F2011-03-28_11-34-05_603.mp4">

Being a counselor, we talk about our feelings a lot...





can't see video? click here

never too early to start...





can't see video? click here

I dont know how these pictures got overlooked...



I love this one because there's so much joy in their faces...

this one too...

after church one day only 2 months ago, but they both look so different now!

and one day beckham came over for a play date and showed lily all the stuff big kids do... he is soooooo handsome...

be still my heart...


feet painting with Ella...

he's so cuddly...




some oldies, but goodies that i wanna make sure make it on the blog so they're there for the blog to book printing....

life is good...




Wednesday, April 13, 2011

A Busch Gardens Birthday

I still can't believe it when I was printing this sign for her to sit on her chair.... in honor of turning 3, we headed to Busch Gardens to celebrate... and boy did we ever... (photobucket deleted 4 pictures in previous post so my apologies if these are duplicate) Lily brought along some of her best pals... and then a few more too...part of the herd took over the park (and every restaurant we visited)... and our little cautious lily is quite the daredevil on rides...it helps to have Grace there too, but she'll do most she sees... awwwwwwwwww they had to stop the ride and kick me out because I was inside the fenced area snapping away... stroller is key at any park for all the walking - Lily wanted nothing to do with ours and only wanted to be next to Gracie Pie... Busch Gardens is more like an amusement park these days with random animal themes throughout...I thought this was pretty cool... I had a little Joey of my own...oh how I love this sling Kelle told me about when Lily was 7 months old...I use it all the time... rest break... Lily was in a funk just before her nap and this picture was just around that time. she took a game changing nap that made the rest of the day so much fun. phew I had my back to them and when I turned around, Lily had the wand and Abby Cadabby was trying to get it back from lily who was toddling off with it. No idea how that happened and not sure I wanna know. Look how cute Grace is..thanks for the hat loan Lindsey.... change of wardrobe for some water fun... and this boy? I can't express his disposition and how much fun he added to the mix because every time you make eye contact with him, this is what you see... and tickle his ribs or palms of his hands and he's a fit of giggles... he was playing with my necklace so my dad took it off my hands, but looked like a granola boy in the process. he kept it on a little too long... ummmmmmm, what?? This was a fun ride and some on the boat get wet and some dont. Well, Grace and I wanted to get wet the least, but got wet the most. Murphy's Law I guess.. This stroller helped cart Grady around, but acted as a shopping cart even more. Thanks for letting us use this Theresa. Too bad we looked like a homeless family. just before the train ride through the jungle...Douglas won this spongebob pillow and they became fast friends for the rest of the day...even posed for the picture... I love this picture...and these people so so so so so much! this was at the end of the day just before the park was about to close...we'll all looking a little rough, but the lighting was good. ha and some pool fun...Lily is having a bad hair day. Dad and David saw the new USF baseball stadium which was remarkable....even snapped a picture of David's tile which took some time to find, but was in a very appropriate place; the dugout where he spent countless hours growing up and at USF Our trip to Busch Gardens was a sneak preview to a trip to Disney which we weren't quite sure when we could pull that off, but this helped us realize how much it'd be for everyone. Seeing the kids so happy was like wearing an endorphin filled oxygen mask all day watching them take it all in and the joy in their faces at every turn. Nothing better in life than seeing your kids happy. nothing. life is good.

Monday, April 04, 2011

THREE!

we're changing our vocabulary from "she's almost 3" to "she is 3" when people ask her age and that's a crazy shift. 3 sounds so old and mature, but I guess that's what happens year after year... she's come a long way from this ...

to this...



and a trip down memory lane as she's grown up literally before our eyes...




her 2nd year...



3 years ago today still gives me the nervous feeling in my tummy if I really think about how she entered this world; it was scary and traumatic as we almost lost her, but that just fuels my gratitude and thanksgiving into this universe because she has brought such immeasureable joy to our family. We worked like dogs to have her here with us, but it seems like no work at all in hindsight because she was worth that much; we would do it all over again and then some just to be together. She had an incredible time in Busch Gardens for her birthday celebration surrounded in so much love. (there's about 300 more pictures where this one came from)






Lily, here are some of the things you're doing right now off the top of my head:


You love to sing Happy Birthday to inanimate objects like your crib, chair, dresser, etc and always reaches an unusually high pitch for the second verse of birthday.


You love to watch Supernanny and are aghast at their behaviors.


You are crazy sweet to your brother and don't like when he cries. The other day he was crying in the house with David and you were outside in the pool. Somehow you heard it with the doors closed. You looked stunned, stopped playing, raced inside like road runner, soaking wet, bringing him his favorite giraffe toy and pacifier. You begged me to make him a bottle and stood by my side tapping your toes as I got it ready then ran it to daddy.


Actually, you don't like when anyone cries and will ask a million questions when you hear someone crying or in trouble. It goes from empathy to nosy in seconds.



You love when I call for you and say "Lily Grace, I need to see your face" and you come running. Usually.


You love to climb into your carseat and have me knock from the inside of the house so you can scream you're ready.


You officially changed my dad's name from Papa to Grandpa the other day, but want David's dad to still be Papa.


You tell us everything that has happened in your past happened yesterday. Like you were born yesterday, you went to the water park yesterday, you had your birthday party yesterday, you went to grandma's house yesterday.


When we tell you to wait 10 minutes for something, you slowly count to 10 and expect time to be up. Same for 5 minutes counting to 5, 2 minutes counting to 2, etc.


When you're sick you tell me there's a bug in your tummy and you say "shoo fly" to make yourself feel better.

You have a shy personality, but surprise me all the time...like with the man at the pool you walked over to and played catch with for 30+ minutes and started up a conversation with out of the blue. He was about 85 and spoke broken English, but you two had a ball.

You remember to pray for everyone in our family and are like detective cluesoe if one is missing.

You get to watch TV in the car as a reward after we leave some place when you're a good listener at the store, play date, church, etc. You usually tell me when you have or have not earned the privilege.

You love to teach things to us that they already know how to do like you taught me how to use the kickboard yesterday and read a book. "come heer mommy, i show u" as your waving your hand in the air to lead me in that direction.


You exude happiness from every pore and teach us everyday about balance and perspective.


Your hearing is incredible. You heard grandpa's watch single tiny beep on the hour during the loudest song at church last week and it took us forever to figure out what you were saying as you were explaining what you heard. The ironic part is you say "what?" a lot when you are processing an answer to a question. I only know this because when I say "you heard me" you can repeat the answer.


You sleep like a teenager. Always have since birth; we can't figure out why you need so much sleep, but we're not complaining.


Being home with you (and Grady) has meant more to me than you'll ever know.


You like to sing your ABC's while going potty and tell me which letter you landed on when it comes out; you laugh especially hard when it comes out at the letter P and exclaim "I went pee-pee on the letter P. Dats so funny"


Grandma made you a brand new taggie blanket which is the exact replica of the 3 extremely worn blankets you use interchangeably now, but you don't like it because it's too soft. ??


You ask "where we going?" as soon as you wake up, before and after your nap and before you go to bed each night. You love to be 'on the go' like me, but it's probably because you don't know any different.


You act up the most around people that are new to you. You have a warm up period for sure. Aunt Jen says it's like the first day of school feeling for you where you feel nervous and don't know what to do with that feeling so you become more tempermental, crying over silly things that wouldn't normally bother you. You used to cry when the UPS man would come to our door when you were a baby so you've come a long way.


You do not like to be the center of attention, but danced like a wild woman in front of a group of 50 strangers at a party during the Super Bowl half time show so just when I think I have you figured out, I'm wrong.


You don't like when people say hi to you, but will often say bye to people when asked. You barely like to say hi to us when we come home bc it has to be on your terms. Oh, and you love to wave to people as they're leaving our house. You wave so hard like you're in a parade. You especially like when they honk. Sometimes I see you through the den window waving to me and daddy says you're inside begging for a honk or 2.


You fell the floor in puddle of tears at Moes in the doorway when Julie was excited to see you and said Hi while waving wildly.


You voluntarily wave to 85% of the cars as they drive by if you're playing outside.


Every time we ask you why your baby is feeling a certain way it always the same answer. "Baby is sad because she misses her mommy and daddy. Baby is happy because she is with her mommy and daddy. And baby is mad because she is in time out. "


You LOVE with a capital L to read books. You love to read the pictures and would do it for hours straight if you could. It is darling with a capital D!

You said you don't like to say hi to people because you're afraid they'll eat your toes.

Playing catch is probably your favorite game. You might get a tee-ball set for your birthday and you'll pretty jazzed about that. If the ball hits you on the head, you laugh like you're about to lose your breath and each time is like the first time it happened.


Driving your Barbie car and riding your tricycle are favorites too.


You refuse to call it a ''nap'', but you will ''rest your body'' each day without a fight.


You call going to bed at night your nap time.


You are a people pleaser at the young age of 3.


You are unbelieveably brave when it comes to roller coasters, slides, any sense of adventure which doesn't fit into your cautious personality either, but I completely trust you when you tell me you do or do not want to do something. You are sure so I'm sure and I don't push either way because you're always right. So far.


Last year I told you, in passing, you could have bubble gum when you're 5. If you see someone chewing bubble gum, you tell them you can chew it when you're 5, which isn't the case, but still funny to hear you reiterate what you heard so long ago.


The other day you were so excited at the dinner table to show me how you learned to eat green beans with your feet. I didn't know if I should laugh or be horrified.


Someone asked your brother's name the other day and you said it was Ralph. You also said you were 3 going on 4. Liar, liar, pants on fire.


You love to role play different scenarios of what you would do and what babies would do like if someone takes a toy or hits.


You don't like crunchy peanut butter. You love green beans and eat them like potato chips. You will only eat meat if it's off the grill. ??


You don't care what you wear each day so it hasn't been a struggle. Yet.


You LOVE to talk on the phone, play with my phone, look at my phone, dream of phones or anything phone related.


You love to count in Spanish like Dora. You love to for me to wait until you count to 3 in Spanish for me to turn off the car, but you always stop at "quatro" thinking that's 3.


You are loved unconditionally beyond measure by SO many. Thank you for bringing more joy into our family then we ever thought possible.


Happy Birthday Little Person.